Shakin’ it up!

I thought I’d post on some of my favourite shakes, given they’re such an easy breakfast or snack and you can make them seasonal, too – shakes aren’t just for summer, you know!

20140201-212031.jpg

1. PB&B Delight (anytime of year)

This shake is absolutely smooth and undeniably creamy. I have always, and will always, love peanut butter and banana sandwiches, or just eating peanut butter and bananas together. Or just eating peanut butter alone. PB&B sandwiches were my staple food item on flights as I didn’t like the plane food when I was a kid and got fairly nauseaus from the smell of the trays. I honestly remember thinking the chicken and pasta smelled and tasted like the musty and stale odour that permeated my nostrils whenever I got a whiff of the seats and blankets. Probably because these are porous foods and absorb smells/flavours. My parents thought I was crazy (and irritating)! Especially because I would eat anything on the tray that was packaged. So the PB&B sandwich (world’s easiest) was my secret weapon because you could squish it and it could get totally destroyed (which it inevitably would) and look horrible (darkening banana, mushed up bread) but still taste amazing. Haha … Have I got your appetite going yet? Sorry …

Back to the shake recipe – which is presumably why you are here (Wait … What?? You mean you aren’t reading this post because you want TMI about my weird childhood dislikes??) … Well that’s a shocker.

Ingredients:

– 1/3 avocado (or 1/4 of large) approx. 50 grams
– 1/2 banana (frozen) (alternative to banana, you could use 1/2 cup frozen berries – which I actually used for the photo above)
– 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (could use 1 cup milk instead and omit the powder, as well as using only a splash of water)
– 2 ice cubes
– 1 to 1.25 cup water
– Stevia packet
– Tbsp pb2 (or peanut butter)
– Tbsp ground flax
– As always, add anything else you want to, for fibre and nutrients (frozen spinach, chia seeds, coconut oil, etc.)

2. Pumpkin pie shake (Fall)

If you like pumpkin pie then I would highly recommend this shake. I find in the cooler months I’d like a change from eggs or oatmeal in the morning and this beautiful, decadent, protein infused shake hits the spot. There are, as you might imagine, so many varieties and ultimately you just have to be sure you’ve got pumpkin, some sweetener, something milky, and then the SPICE – can’t have pumpkin pie without some nutmeg, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, etc. If you are really in the mood, you could even top with whipped cream or whipped coconut milk and some crushed pecans! Nom nom.. Not a bad start (or finish) to the day.

Ingredients:

– 1/2 cup pumpkin canned
– 1 to 1.25 cup milk of choice OR scoop of vanilla protein powder and one cup water
– Dash of nutmeg and cinnamon (or pumpkin pie spice – I didn’t have any)
– Stevia packet
– 2 ice cubes
– 2-3 frozen spinach nuggets (optional)

3. Coffee frap (anytime of year … Duh. It’s coffee!!)

I had lots of leftover coffee one week and decided to make use of it! Ryan and I had daily shakes … Everything from ice cream to cocoa powder to coconut milk to bananas were thrown in with some ice and milk. It was actually really fun to experiment … Again, my idea if fun is probably a little pathetic. But hey, I’m turning 30 this year and embracing this old soul that’s been scratching to get out for many years. 😉 By the way, you will likely have noticed I put avocado into everything. This is always optional, but you need something to make the shake thicker and creamy (in my opinion). With that said, you could replace it with banana, cottage cheese, greek yogurt – really anything subtle enough not to overpower the flavour you are trying to highlight and with the right texture/consistency. I just happen to love avocado because I think it’s actually milder than a banana and the healthy fats are super, as well as the fact that it’s low on the glycemic index scale.

Ingredients:

– 1/2 large avocado or approx. 100 grams
– 1/2 frozen banana
– 1 cup cold coffee
– 1 scoop chocolate or vanilla protein powder (or one cup milk of choice, and omit water)
– 2 ice cubes (even better if they are coffee ice cubes, as it makes the flavour stronger … Can you tell I had A LOT of leftover coffee?)
– Stevia packet
– 1 cup water
– 1 tbsp ground flax seed

SUMMARY OF MY SHAKE RULES:

I don’t have any! That’s the fun of a shake – you can throw whatever you want in there! The basic idea is to try and stick with a template, once you find out what ratios work for you to make the drink smooth and creamy enough, without being too thick or thin, or heaven forbid too watery (yuck!). I would generally recommend the following:

– 1 cup fruit (mango, pineapple, berries, avocado, banana, etc.)
– 1 to 1.25 cup liquid (creamy: milk of some sort)
– 1-2 ice cubes (not needed if you are using frozen fruit and maybe only one ice cube if you are using frozen spinach or kale, half cup or so)
– 1 sweetener IF you feel it’s necessary (i.e. When using mango or sweet fruits it may not be required)
– 1 tbsp of other healthy things like flax ground, Maca, chia, etc.
– 1 tbsp fat (PB or nut butter or coconut oil) though not necessary if your adding avocado or coconut milk – I have heard that the added fat helps you to digest/absorb the good stuff from the other nutrients (who knows if that’s remotely true) and it also keeps you satiated longer.

Enjoy!!

This entry was posted in Gluten free, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

