Chia-Coconut-Cinnamon Porridge

So, I’ve always enjoyed concocting random things in the kitchen and getting ideas from blogs, cookbooks, the Food Network and more recently – Pinterest! While my husband and I really really really love going out for pub food (calamari and wings being our top two “musts”), AND as much as I love bread and french fries (anything doughy, really), during the work week I feel a lot better when I cut out wheat. I’ve long struggled with some IBS type symptoms that rear their head every so often, particularly when I’m stressed or not sleeping well, or actually … whenever they feel like it, now that I reflect.

Yes, so back to the recipe. For breakfast I often like to have an avocado or fruit shake, scrambled egg/frittata or oatmeal. I have, however, noticed that the latter sometimes give me indigestion so I’ve tried to recreate a comforting “oatmeal/porridge” type breakfast that is gluten-free. And I made the perfect bowl today!! I have to admit, I promptly high-fived myself (my husband, as accustomed to this behaviour as he is, looked at me with quiet judgment). I then burnt my mouth, as I always do, when I am overzealous with my tasting and don’t let my food cool down. Or when I have Tim Horton’s.

Also, to paint the picture further, as I am engaging in these “cooking” experiments I like to think I look like a mad scientist, scurrying around the kitchen with measuring spoons in hand but no awareness of how many spoonfuls I am actually using (go figure)….  With that said, my measurements may not be completely accurate and I promise next time I will check and modify the recipe below if needed.

Ingredients:

– Half banana
– 2 rounded tbsp chia seeds ground
– 1 rounded tbsp coconut flour
– 1/4 cup almond milk (I use unsweetened)
– 1/2 water
– sweetener to taste (e.g. Stevia, honey, etc.)
– salt to taste
– 1/2 tbsp almond butter
– 1 tsp coconut oil
– 1/2 scoop (i.e. 2-3 tbsp) whey protein powder (optional, could use more milk like coconut milk, regular, etc. I’ve also used liquid egg-whites for a protein source)

Directions:

1. In a cereal-sized bowl, mash the banana and mix with following 6 ingredients then microwave for about a minute (check to ensure it isn’t overflowing) and if still liquidy, another 30-60 seconds.
2. Add the whey protein and mix well
3. Microwave another 15 seconds or so to incorporate the whey
4. Add the almond butter and coconut oil
5. Let sit until thickens to porridge consistency
6. Stir & enjoy!

P.S If you add cinnamon, a little coconut milk, or mashed frozen bananas it can also add a nice touch.

P.P.S A simpler less creamy version is just the chia, coconut flour, milk, water, sweetener and salt. It’s a good base to work with and you can add pretty much anything into it.

This entry was posted in Gluten free, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

